Archimedes’ Lever

Engraving from Mechanic’s Magazine (cover of bound Volume II, Knight & Lacey, London, 1824). Illustration to Archimedes remark “Δοσ μοι που στω και κινω την γην”, as quoted by Pappus of Alexandria in Collection or Synagoge, Book VIII, c. AD 340. Greek text in Pappi Alexandrini Collectionis edited by Friedrich Otto Hultsch, Berlin, 1878, page 1060. Often translated into English as “Give me a place to stand on, and I will move the earth” (Dikshoorn 1987) or “Give me but one firm spot on which to stand, and I will move the earth” (Oxford Dictionary of Quotations, 1953).

https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Archimedes_lever.png

Lascia un commento

Il tuo indirizzo email non sarà pubblicato. I campi obbligatori sono contrassegnati *

8 + uno =

Questo sito usa Akismet per ridurre lo spam. Scopri come i tuoi dati vengono elaborati.