Crea sito

Hawkins County, TN Courthouse – Rogersville, TN

J.L. Ramsaur Photography ha aggiunto una foto al pool:

Hawkins County, TN Courthouse - Rogersville, TN

One of the oldest Tennessee counties, Hawkins County was first established as a separate North Carolina county on January 6, 1787, when the state legislature divided Sullivan County, North Carolina. Prior to its creation by North Carolina, the county was Spencer County, State of Franklin. The original county was quite large with other counties or parts of Tennessee counties being created from Hawkins that include Hancock, Grainger, Jefferson, Knox, Roane, Meigs, and Hamilton. It is named for Benjamin Hawkins, a U.S. Senator from North Carolina.<br />

The Hawkins County Courthouse, located in Rogersville, TN (the second-oldest town in the state) was designed and built by Architect/Contractor John Dameron. Construction was completed in 1836. An addition was completed in 1870. Later in 1929, a remodel was completed by Architect Allen N. Dryden and contractor E.S. Glover. This courthouse is one of six antebellum courthouses still in use in Tennessee, and it is the second oldest courthouse still in use in the state.

The very first courthouse in Hawkins County, a log structure was where the vote was tallied and proclaimed in 1796 that Tennessee had attained statehood.

Three bracketed photos were taken with a handheld Nikon D7200 and combined with Photomatix to create this HDR image. Additional adjustments were made in Photoshop CS6.

"For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future." ~Jeremiah 29:11

Lascia un commento

Il tuo indirizzo email non sarà pubblicato.

2 + uno =

Questo sito usa Akismet per ridurre lo spam. Scopri come i tuoi dati vengono elaborati.