Five Rules Of App Localization In China: Money, Dating And App Store






 



 


I recently sat down with Rock Zhang, a Chinese mobile entrepreneur. Rock is my classmate from business school, and we have both worked in the mobile industry for a while. In an age when the best marketing is good product management, Rock knows how to make millions of Chinese users fall in love with an app. I asked him to share his thoughts on app localization.

Screenshots from the most popular apps on China's iOS App Store show some of the best practices to follow when localizing for the Chinese mobile market.

For me, China has always been a hard market to crack. I’ve marketed several mobile apps in European and US markets, and my apps have been featured many times in the App Stores in Russia, Israel, Spain, Germany and the US. But in China, our growth was stalling, and I don’t think we ever got a request for promotional artwork to be featured in the App Store. Truth be told, my “Asian expansion strategy” usually boiled down to hiring freelance translators through Elance to help me localize App Store pages in Chinese, Korean and Japanese.

The post Five Rules Of App Localization In China: Money, Dating And App Store appeared first on Smashing Magazine.

Lascia un commento

Il tuo indirizzo email non sarà pubblicato. I campi obbligatori sono contrassegnati *

8 − 7 =

Questo sito usa Akismet per ridurre lo spam. Scopri come i tuoi dati vengono elaborati.